
 

ARIZONA STATE BOARD OF DISPENSING OPTICIANS 

1400 W. Washington, Suite 230, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 

602-542-8158   FAX:  602-542-3093 
 

Return this notice with amount due before 12/31/16 

RENEWAL APPLICATION for January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017 
           

          Optician’s License No.:      

    

          Current License Expires 12/31/16 

          C.E. credits due if marked   _____ 

          AMOUNT DUE:     $135.00 
 MAKE ANY CHANGE OF HOME 

OR WORK ADDRESS 

 

Your Dispensing Optician’s license expires on December 31
st
.  In order to renew it for the period January 1 through December 31 

of next year, you must complete this application and return it with the required fee of $135.00 to the Board POSTMARKED ON 

OR BEFORE DECEMBER 31, 2016.    
 

Renewal applications postmarked after December 31, but prior to January 31, SHALL PAY A LATE FEE OF $100 IN 

ADDITION TO THE RENEWAL FEE.   A LICENSE EXPIRES IF A RENEWAL IS NOT COMPLETED ON OR BEFORE 

JANUARY 31 AND APPLICANT SHALL APPLY FOR LICENSURE AS AN ORIGINAL APPLICANT.  Pursuant to A.R.S. 

§32-1697, the practice of optical dispensing without a valid license is a class 2 misdemeanor.   Applications submitted without 

being properly completed, having the appropriate fee, or without continuing education credits, when required, will be considered 

incomplete and unacceptable. 
 

I have read the Arizona Dispensing Optician’s Act and Rules and to the best of my knowledge and belief, I am not in violation of 

any provisions of that Act and continue to meet the requirements for license.  I am now practicing as a Dispensing Optician at: 

              Work 

Establishment Name_________________________________________________ Telephone # _________________________ 

(If applicable) 

Address: _______________________________________________City: _________________ St_________ Zip ___________ 
 

Establishment License #______________ (if establishment is licensed by State Board of Dispensing Opticians) 
 

*********     THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED      *********. 
In accordance with A.R.S. §32-3208 Criminal charges; mandatory reporting requirements; civil penalty: 

Have you been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety or a felony since your last renewal?      

__________no     __________ yes (if yes, attach explanation) 
 

In accordance with A.R.S. §32-3211 Medical Records; protocol; unprofessional conduct; corrective action; exemptions:  

Are you in compliance with A.R.S. §32-3211       __________yes     __________ no    (if no, attach explanation) 
 

I affirm that the stated information is true and correct and that any false statement herein could result in the suspension or 

revocation of my license. 

 

Telephone #:______________________   D.O.B.              Last four of Social Security #:  X X X –X X-           
 

 

email address: _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

Signed: ___________________________________________________________ Date_______________________________ 
 

 

Include continuing education credits slips with renewal application-when required 
 

 

Do you need this information in an alternative format?  Please call the Board 

Office at 602- 542-8158 



A.R.S. §41-1030. Invalidity of rules not made according to this 18 chapter; prohibited agency action; prohibited acts 19 by 

state employees; enforcement; notice 

 B An agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not specifically 

authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact. A general grant of authority in statute does not constitute a basis for 

imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically 

authorizes the requirement or condition. 

 D This section may be enforced in a private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. The court may award 

reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action against 

the state for a violation of this section.  

 E A state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this section is cause for disciplinary 

action or dismissal pursuant to the agency's adopted personnel policy.  

 F This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 44 12-820.01 or 12-820.02. 

A.R.S. §32-3211. Medical records; protocol; unprofessional conduct; corrective action; exemptions 

A. A health professional must prepare a written protocol for the secure storage, transfer and access of the medical records of the health 

professional's patients. At a minimum the protocol must specify: 

1. If the health professional terminates or sells the health professional's practice and the patient's medical records will not remain in the same 

physical location, the procedure by which the health professional shall notify each patient in a timely manner before the health professional 

terminates or sells the health professional's practice in order to inform the patient regarding the future location of the patient's medical records 

and how the patient can access those records. 

2. The procedure by which the health professional may dispose of unclaimed medical records after a specified period of time and after the health 

professional has made good faith efforts to contact the patient. 

3. How the health professional shall timely respond to requests from patients for copies of their medical records or to access their medical 

records. 

B. The protocol prescribed in subsection A of this section must comply with the relevant requirements of title 12, chapter 13, article 7.1 regarding 

medical records. 

C. A health professional shall indicate compliance with the requirements of this section on the health professional's application for relicensure in 

a manner prescribed by the health professional's regulatory board. 

D. A health professional who does not comply with this section commits an act of unprofessional conduct. 

E. In addition to taking disciplinary action against a health professional who does not comply with this section, the health professional's 

regulatory board may take corrective action regarding the proper storage, transfer and access of the medical records of the health professional's 

patients. For the purposes of this subsection, corrective action does not include taking possession or management of the medical records. 

F. For the purposes of this section, health professional does not include a veterinarian. 

G. This section does not apply to a health professional who is employed by a health care institution as defined in section 36-401 that is 

responsible for the maintenance of the medical records. 

R4-20-114. Notice of Change of Status 

A. An optical establishment licensee and dispensing optician licensee shall notify the Board of any change in the information provided to the 

Board concerning license application or its renewal, including any change in name, address, work location, establishment ownership or the name, 

address or home telephone number of each dispensing optician, working at the establishment. 

B. This notice shall be in writing and made within 30 days of change of status. 

C. For purposes of this Section, a change of establishment ownership means: 

1. The transfer of a controlling interest in the optical establishment business from one person to another; 

2. The addition or termination of a general partner; or 

3. The transfer or agreement to transfer a block of twenty percent or more of the outstanding voting stock of a corporation or association or the 

transfer or agreement to transfer any amount of voting stock that would give the transferee control of a majority of outstanding voting stock.  For 

purposes of this paragraph, “voting stock” means any interest or system whereby the operation of a corporation is controlled by its owners or 

trustees. 

R4-20-120. Continuing Education; Hours Required; Reporting 
A. Within every three-year period from the date of obtaining a license, a person licensed as a dispensing optician shall complete no fewer than 12 

hours of continuing education that is approved by the Board for credit. 

B. Each licensee shall submit documentation to the Board verifying that the licensee has completed 12 hours or more of continuing education, 

within each three-year period.  The licensee shall provide documentation that identifies the courses and the number of credit hours completed and 

include the following: 

1.  If the course is from a school approved by the Commission on Opticianry Accreditation or college-accredited course, proof of course 

completion and the number of credits earned. 

2. If the course is part of an event, a certificate of completion issued by the sponsor which identifies each part completed. 

3. If the course is a home-study course, a certificate of completion issued by the sponsor and the number of credits earned. 

4. For any other course, a certificate of completion issued by the sponsor or presenter and the number of credits earned. 

5. If the licensee cannot obtain the above documentation, any other documents, affidavits, or testimony which provides assurance that the 

licensee has completed the requirements. 

C. Of the twelve hours of continuing education, each licensee shall obtain at least: 

1. Four hours in eyeglass fitting and dispensing; 

2. Three hours in contact lens fitting and dispensing; 

3. One hour in state or national opticianry standards. 

D. Hours will be measured as follows: one credit hour will be assigned for each 50 minutes of a single session. 

E. The Board shall discipline any licensee who submits false information for continuing education documentation. 

F. A licensee shall not apply any hours accrued during one reporting period to any subsequent reporting period. 


