The mission of the Arizona State Board of Dispensing Opticians is to ensure that the consumers of the State of Arizona are afforded quality optical services.
To this end, the Board regulates the opticianry profession through administering examinations, issuing licenses to qualified opticians and optical establishments, proposing legislation, enacting rules and regulations and investigating complaints brought to the Board against licensed opticians and optical establishments.
Laws 2016, Chapter 115, requires each state agency to post their budget request on the agency’s website.
FY 18 Budget Request is available for viewing below.
New Statute Changes Effective 7/3/15
SB 1010 signed by the Governor on March 23, 2015 amends A.R.S. §32-1687 B. This increases the maximum number of continuing education credits that can be required from 12 to 21 credits. What this means for opticians is; the Board will seek to change A.A.C. R4-20-120 (Rule) to increase the number of continuing education hours required from 12 hours every three years to 18 hours every three years. To change the Rule, the Board must go through the rule change process by first seeking approval from the Governor's office, then opening a docket with the Governor’s Regulatory Review Counsel (GRRC). A list of proposed rule changes will be published by the Secretary of State. Following a comment period a Final Rule change will be published. If you have any questions, please call the Board office. These changes are NOT in effect yet. You will be notified when they are. ____________________________________________________________________________________________ UPDATE: The Governor's office has denied the Board's request to change the rules to allow for 6 more hours of Continuing Education, therefore, the requirement will remain at 12 hours every three years.
Practical Examinations are administered in March and September of each year. Deadlines to submit the application for the examination are 45 days prior to the examination date (January 18th for the March Exam and July 22nd for the September exam) The practical examination is given at 1400 W. Washington, Phoenix, AZ, in Room B-1.
QUORUM NOTICE: Pursuant to A.R.S. 328-431.02 Notice is hereby given to the members of the Arizona State Board of Dispensing Opticians and the general public that on Wednesday March 1, 2017 and September 6, 2017 at approximately 8:00 a.m., 10:00 a.m., and 1:00 p.m., a quorum of Board members may be present at each examination for the purpose of observing the administration of the examination. No Board action will be taken at these examinations.
A quorum of Board members may also be present on February 28th, and September 5th, 2017 prior to the examination to review examination equipment. While this will not be open to the public, No Board action will be taken at that time.
CONGRATULATIONS TO THE FIFTEEN APPLICANTS WHO PASSED THE SEPTEMBER PRACTICAL EXAMINATION!!!!
ESTABLISHMENT/OPTICIAN RENEWAL NOTICES
Establishment Renewal Notices will be mailed out the Week of May 2nd. Renewals and appropriate fees are due to be returned to the Board office postmarked by June 30th.
Optician Renewal Notices will be mailed out the Week of October 3rd. Renewals, appropriate fees and (when applicable) Continuing Education credits are due to be returned to the Board office postmarked by December 31st.
Renewal application is available on the Resources page under Forms - Miscellaneous forms.
Please see the Resources tab for a list of when your continuing education credits are due. 12 credits are due every three year period. Credits must be acquired during that three year period and cannot be carried over.
For a course on Rules and Regulations: CONTACT: Jim McClafferty 480-560-4041 -----OR------ AADO 440 N. Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711, 520-327-6215. The board will also accept the course from OpticalTraining.com Instrumentation Reguations and Standards, as well as any state's course on Statutes or Laws. Contact Colleen Davis for information on the Summer Conference in Prescott in June at 928-379-0542 or 928-771-9939 -----OR----- AADO on the Fall Conference usually held in October or November at 520-327-6215.